Press "Enter" to skip to content

Columbian wins 12 awards in SPJ contest

The Columbian’s news staff has won 12 awards for excellence in the annual five-state regional contest sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists.

The Columbian competes in the medium-sized newsroom category in the contest, which covers Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Alaska.

First place awards went to Wyatt Stayner, feature writing: hard news; Will Campbell, business reporting; Meg Wochnick, sports feature; Romana Wood, graphics and illustration; Patty Hastings, feature writing: soft news; and Nathan Howard, photo portfolio. A team of journalists also won first-place in breaking news reporting for its work on the Smith Tower shooting.

Individual runner-up award winners from The Columbian were Jessica Prokop, Lyndsey Hewitt, Katie Gillespie and Allan Brettman. The staff also won runner-up honors for general excellence.


Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: